Will the M6/V6 HD characters take more computer resources?

McKinnanMcKinnan Posts: 0
edited April 2014 in New Users

I'm still very new to DAZ and the HD characters were released shortly after I arrived.

That being said, I've chosen NOT to use them (gorgeous as they are) for fear they will take more resources from my new but basic computer (lots of RAM but no dedicated graphics card).

Am I assuming correctly or am I worrying over something needlessly? I've been known to do that before, :-)

System specs - i5, 2.90Ghz, Quad core, 64-bit, on board graphics, 16Gb ram

Note - I have been watching the boards to get an answer to this question but have not seen anyone really complaining about computers slowing down because they are working with the HD stuff. Maybe this is a total non-issue.

Post edited by McKinnan on

Comments

• mark128mark128 Posts: 1,029
    edited December 1969

McKinnan said:
    I'm still very new to DAZ and the HD characters were released shortly after I arrived.

That being said, I've chosen NOT to use them (gorgeous as they are) for fear they will take more resources from my new but basic computer (lots of RAM but no dedicated graphics card).

Am I assuming correctly or am I worrying over something needlessly? I've been known to do that before, :-)

System specs - i5, 2.90Ghz, Quad core, 64-bit, on board graphics, 16Gb ram

Note - I have been watching the boards to get an answer to this question but have not seen anyone really complaining about computers slowing down because they are working with the HD stuff. Maybe this is a total non-issue.

I think the HD characters do use more memory than the non-HD versions and the HD characters do take somewhat longer to render. The HD characters are only supported on the 64-bit version of DAZ, and I expect the extra memory is why.