Will Bryce 5 content work in Bryce 7.1

PianoManPianoMan Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Bryce Discussion

I am new to Byrce. I bought this Bryce 5.0 content thinking that it work in Bryce 7.1. However, I can't seem to make it work. Here is the link to the product: http://www.daz3d.com/bryce-5-0-content-pack.

The product icons do not show up in the create dialog box, so I have attempted to import it the obp files directly into custom category. When I do this one of two things occur: Either an error dialog box appears asking me to fill out a bug report or the mouse cursor spins not ever producing a result.

How can I use this content and get Bryce 7.1 to recognize it.

Showing a screen shot of the open dialog of my attempt to import.

OpenDialog.jpg
743 x 564 - 89K

Comments

• ChoholeChohole Posts: 33,604
    edited December 1969

Extract the content to a temp folder, then import into your preset library

select it here (Image 1)

Click here (image 2)

browse to where you extracted the content (the temp folder) and look for the icons (Image 3)

you can make your own folder by clicking on the + sign (Image 4) and name it whatever you like

import_content_4.jpg
    672 x 406 - 118K
    import_content_3.jpg
    272 x 158 - 35K
    import_content_2.jpg
    670 x 416 - 124K
    import_content.jpg
    738 x 94 - 84K
  • PianoManPianoMan Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

We attempted to import the obp files but Bryce crashes. See screen shot.

Fail.jpg
    997 x 653 - 247K
  • HoroHoro Posts: 10,069
    edited December 1969

@jaxsom - welcome to the Bryce forums. Yes, Bryce 5 content works with Bryce 7.1 BUT the libraries are not compatible. Up to Bryce 5.5, the objects libraries had 6 abreast, since Bryce 6.0 there are 10.

All content earlier than Bryce 6.0 must be converted. That means export it with a Bryce version lower than 6 and then import in Bryce 7.1, as chohole explains.