Online Short Animation Contest From The 48 Hour Film Folks

The 48x2 Animation Project

Are you an animator or always wanted to try animating. The 48 Hour Film Project has a competition specifically for you. You will have 4 days (from May 13 - 17, 2020) [the normal contest is two days] to create an animated short film. All types of animation are acceptable (including live action composited with animation).

2D and 3D
Clay-mation
Stop Motion
Machinima

Just like the regular 48HFP, you will receive your assignment (electronically): a genre, a character [name and occupation, male or female, e.g. Don or Donna Smith, an Uber Driver], a prop [e.g. book, taco, screwdriver] and a line of dialogue [e.g. "It's my first time.", "I can't hear you.", etc.] Your team will have 4 days to create a 2 - 5 minute animated film. [The normal contest is 4 to 7 minutes]  Each team will get their choice between two assigned genres.
Out of utmost caution during these difficult pandemic times, your team is limited to those people you live with and/or anyone you partner with remotely. Health and safety is paramount.

Registration Fees
$30 USD/team ends Wed, May 13
The winner of Best Film of the 48x2 Animation Project will receive a trophy at Filmapalooza and will be shown during our 48HFP screening at the Cannes Film Festival Short Film Corner 2021.

END QUOTE

The genres have not been listed yet, but usually there are two groups of about ten each, the first group fairly standard (drama, comedy, horror, etc.) and the second group more unusual (martial arts, generation gap, disaster).  You get one genre from each group and can pick either one, and can also mix genres as long as one of the assigned genres is included.  More here:

https://48hourfilm.com/animation

Comments

• Steve KSteve K Posts: 3,226