How do I turn a G2F figure into a low-resource figurine?

Testing6790Testing6790 Posts: 1,091
edited December 1969 in The Commons

I can't express how excited I am to get some quality RPG renders going with the GM tools that I purchased last week. I've never posted any of my work, but I do a ton of medieval rendering and I'm a huge D&D nerd. As you might expect, this extremely inexpensive kit has me vey happy.

I created a (in my opinion) very nicely posed Gia wearing the old V4 historical armor that I was excited to make into a figurine. I have my parented base and everything. I'm very new to exporting objects for any other usage aside from creating morphs, so I was very surprised to find that after exported it as an OBJ with material zones mapped, when I reimported it she still had all her joints and morphs worked!

I have a fairly strong computer (Haswell i7 4770K @ 4.2 GHz and 16 GB of RAM), but I have 3 "players" in a scene with just this one figurine and my navigation around the scene strarts chugging. Is there a way I can export my posed figure with material zones in a way where I can reimport it all colored correctly without it having all the un-needed pose controls and stuff.

The idea is to be able to have my textured, posed, figure that doesn't need to be reposed and take up as little resources as possible so I can have a bunch without wrecking my scene.

Comments

• Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 99,449
    edited December 1969

OBJ should not come in rigged. Exactly what did you do?

• Testing6790Testing6790 Posts: 1,091
    edited December 1969

File > Export Obj > Saved as Wavefront Object (.OBJ). In the Object Exporter wizard I left everything default except that I selected "write surfaces."