Clothing creation legality

Zachary JamesZachary James Posts: 2
edited December 1969 in The Commons

My first post :)

I'm fairly new to Daz3D and 3D in general. I have a working knowledge of Zbrush and fairly advanced in Photoshop post work. It's my aspiration to become a published artist full-time in the Daz marketplace. Been thoroughly enjoying reading through the threads. Although I am learning quite a bit surrounding the process of content creation I am quite confused on the legalities concerning clothing.

For instance I have been sending a genesis mesh into Zbrush, masking out a basic shape, and extracting it to create the clothing base. Is this process unacceptable for the purpose of selling?

I plan on making content for Genesis 2 female and male primarily. Any clarification or suggestions would be much appreciated on the proper methodology for the purpose of selling :) Something I can purchase in the store that fits my goals?

Thanks in Advance!

*Wasn't sure which forum to make this post. Apologies.

Comments

• FistyFisty Posts: 3,416
    edited April 2014

No, you cannot use the actual genesis mesh as the basis for your clothing (to sell or give away, only for your own personal use), you'll need to either create your own skin tight base mesh to start your creations with or there are ones you can purchase specifically for that purpose.

Here is a nice set for G2F: http://www.daz3d.com/merchant-resource-genesis-2-females-starter-suits

Post edited by Fisty on
  • Zachary JamesZachary James Posts: 2
    edited December 1969

Oh excellent. Thanks for the reply and link! :)

edited December 1969

yep yep good luck! =)

• Lissa_xyzLissa_xyz Posts: 6,116
    edited December 1969

Joequick also has a fair amount of decent starter suits for free that can be used to create freebies and commercial items.

G2F: http://www.sharecg.com/v/73652/gallery/5/3D-Model/G2F-Base-Meshes
    G2M; http://www.sharecg.com/v/73630/gallery/5/3D-Model/G2M-Starter-Meshes