Twin suns? Multiple moons?

kaz42kaz42 Posts: 63
edited December 1969 in Bryce Discussion

I've seen renders that have these features in them, but I haven't been able to figure out how to do this in Bryce 7.1... Is there a way to do this using the Skylab, or are these renders made of two (or more) renders composited together? Or maybe some trick with IBL/HDRI? I'm still a relative noob with Bryce, but I'm learning the software for a particular project, and this is a major stopping block. I could even get by with a method of turning my "moon" to another sun, if there is a way to get the sun/moon on screen at the same time. I've tried consulting Google, but all I can find are renders...

Thanks!

Comments

• HoroHoro Posts: 10,287
    edited December 1969

@kaz42 - welcome to Bryce and these forums. Multiple sun and moons. Sky Lab is no help. You can use spheres to do the job - or HDRIs can also work. If a second sun must light the scene, make the sphere transparent and put a radial without falloff in it, then give the sphere full ambient so it is bright (because the radial is invisible, only its light is visible). For moons that do not light the scene, make the sphere partly transparent to give it a phase. This transparency is good so that clouds appear to pass in front of it. The caveat is if your sky has stars and those may shine through and are not obscured. In such a case, give the sphere a rather low dffuse and light it from the desired side with a radial that only includes the moon sphere. That's it in a nutshell.

• kaz42kaz42 Posts: 63
    edited December 1969