Carrara 8.5 how to manually manage Daz Content

Zach WilsonZach Wilson Posts: 92
edited January 2021 in Carrara Discussion

I'm looking for tutorials on how to manage manually set up and manage Daz Content for Carrara.

Post edited by Zach Wilson on

Comments

• MistaraMistara Posts: 38,675
    edited January 2021

when you add DS library to your carrara browser tray, it's just called 'folder'.  not the same as poser runtime.

the real trick is to know what daz content is combatible with carrara, since the store doesn't tell you.  
    if given a choice of poser version or ds version, is usually wiser to use the poser version.

if you're having trouble with a specific model, ask here in the forum.smiley

Post edited by Mistara on
  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 15,024

I think @Dartabeck has a video detailing what he does.

• Thanks for the feedback.I've never used content before and I would like to set it up my content without having to rely to much on the automation of the DIM.

edited January 2021

the trick to adding a ds content folder, you want to select the folder that contains the data folder in it, 

if you see the dsf not found message, it means it's not finding the data folder.

and to preserve relative paths
    the data folder and runtime/textures folder needs to stay default paths,
    the rest of the folders, customize to heart's content smiley, not sure how the smart works, dont know if meta data stores paths
    i don't have the cms installed

the ds data folder is similar to poser's geometries folder.

add ds folder.jpg
    422 x 352 - 40K
    add da folder1.JPG
    174 x 204 - 16K
  • DartanbeckDartanbeck Posts: 21,103

Diomede said:

I think @Dartabeck has a video detailing what he does.