February 2021 - DAZ 3D New User Challenge - Lighting and Light Effects

Comments

• jkpjkp Posts: 17
    edited February 2021

Beginner Challenge:

"Lighting"

Here is my first entry, ever, in any type of art challenge. I'm very new to all of this and learning more and exciting things all the time.

I wanted to try to bring darker more harsh shadows into the scene. Trying to bring in the essence of the bar and the dance with colored ligthing.

Comments welcome.

BurgandyBellyDancerV1.png
    1536 x 2048 - 4M
    Post edited by jkp on
  • Alias52Alias52 Posts: 284

aprilshowers2065 said:

Second entry for Beginner's Contest

Title: Alarm Bells Ringing

Using a few different lights with this one - three red spotlights at different angles and a yellow point light, then the emissives on their uniforms, guns and visors. Would love to have feedback on how to improve.

Love the look of the colours. I would like to see the faces of the characters a bit more. What about doing it as canvases with a separate beauty canvas for the skin of the models? That way it would bring them out of the shadow a bit.

jkp said:

Beginner Challenge:

"Lighting"

Here is my first entry, ever, in any type of art challenge. I'm very new to all of this and learning more and exciting things all the time.

I wanted to try to bring darker more harsh shadows into the scene. Trying to bring in the essence of the bar and the dance with colored ligthing.

Comments welcome.

Great first effort here. I love the sweat sheen on the skin and the coloured lights work well. I would be tempted to try to ramp up the light a little more. Maybe the front spot to simulate that light on the stage. Maybe also a little rim lighting, but I am only a beginner here myself, so others can probably add a lot more!

aki3d said:

Intermediate Challenge:

"Light Effects"

cabin in the woods

I was missing something in the picture, so I added a building, some animals and a little lake for the reflections.