How to create morphs attenuated by weight maps?

Hi, 

Recently I've been creating joint controlled morphs that affect both the base figure and a graft on that figure.
Moreover, as I want the morphs to be controlled by both left and right joints, this effectively means that each obj file needs to be processed into 4 separate morphs (i.e. left and right versions for both the base and the graft).

After a good deal of experience doing this manually (and still having more morphs planned), I've decided to try to automate this process.

After some time learning about Daz scripting (this is my first time scripting in Daz, but I'm fairly proficient with Python, and have non negligible experience with Javascript), I think I've figured out how to automate most steps, but I'm having trouble with spliting morphs into left and right versions. More precisely, the way I do this manually is by using the "Attenuate By" option in Morph Loader Pro with the attenuation given by a weight map on a DFormer on the figure. However, the Daz script documentation on how to attenuate morphs seems rather lacking.

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Comments

• I'm not sure that Morph loader pro is exposed to scripting, so you'd have to write your own attenuation code - you should be able to get the deltas and attenuate them (that is, reduce them - though from your description I suspect you just need to seelctively zero them) and use the verteices' position to figure out if they are left or right. Shape Splitter can do it, and I think that's a script rather than a plug-in (or was initially). I did once start a similar splitting script in DS 3 and although it didn't get far it was possible, or at least looking possible.

• LAPLAP Posts: 3
    edited February 2021

Hi Richard, thanks for your time and insight.