Best practices for rendering on DAZ3d

arunparunp Posts: 5
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

I am new to DAZ 3D. Are there some best practices to shorten your render time without compromising quality? Does DAZ supports rendering on multiple machines? ( I have a idle server, is there a way to push some load to it in the same task.)

Comments

• HeadwaxHeadwax Posts: 9,964
    edited December 1969

Hya welcome.
    Just a small note - 'Daz' is the company.

Among its products are Daz Studio and Daz Studio.

It also owns Carrara - which is this forum.

So best to ask about a particular software perhaps?
    It's confusing I admit

• evilproducerevilproducer Posts: 9,050
    edited December 1969

As Headwax says, DAZ 3D is the company. It has a stable of software that includes DAZ Studio, Carrara and Bryce among other programs. Can you specify which one you mean?

As to network rendering, I could be wrong, but I believe Carrara Pro is the only one that supports network rendering, unless there is a plugin for Studio that allows it. I'm fairly certain Bryce does not, but I could be wrong.

It can be a bit confusing, but there are significant differences between the programs. DAZ Studio is more like Poser, in that it is kind of like a virtual photography studio. There aren't many options to build your own models or environments. It excels at using pre-made content.

Bryce is primarily an environment/world generating program. It does have a DAZ Studio bridge that allows you to bring in pre-posed figures.

Carrara is more like a software suite. It can be used like Studio if the user wishes with the ability to use pre-made content natively or nearly natively. It also has environmental tools similar to Bryec, though perhaps less polished. Carrara also has several modelers, such as a vertex modeler, Spline modeler, meta-ball modeler, terrain generator, a plant editor/creator and a volumetric cloud editor.