Instance Lab and "object missing" error

edited December 1969 in Bryce Discussion

Hi guys. I'm a novice with Bryce 7.1 - I created some terrain, I put a tree on it, and then I used the Instance Lab to make a forest on my terrain. When I try to load it, Bryce gives the error "There is an object missing, loading will continue without this object..." and then crashes. I loaded an old version of my scene that had just the terrain and the tree and tried again and got the same results.

Am I doing something wrong? I don't really care too about this scene but I'd like to be able to reliable save my landscapes in the future.

Comments

• Roland4Roland4 Posts: 0
    edited October 2014

How much memory you use in your PC ? What for a version of windows you use ?

I just make a test, i created a Terrein and a tree. I have distributed the tree on the terrain and when I was ready Bryce crashs and I dont know why. Perhaps 8 GB Memory is not enough.

Post edited by Roland4 on
  • David BrinnenDavid Brinnen Posts: 3,136
    edited December 1969

Hi guys. I'm a novice with Bryce 7.1 - I created some terrain, I put a tree on it, and then I used the Instance Lab to make a forest on my terrain. When I try to load it, Bryce gives the error "There is an object missing, loading will continue without this object..." and then crashes. I loaded an old version of my scene that had just the terrain and the tree and tried again and got the same results.

Am I doing something wrong? I don't really care too about this scene but I'd like to be able to reliable save my landscapes in the future.

First things first, this was an error that was common to an earlier version of Bryce. So check you are running the most up to date. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BSwkqFCX0Fg

And if not, then that is the cause. And sorry to say, you scene made with the older version is probably irreparably corrupt.

edited December 1969

Hallo David