Can't set up runtime.

ScarecrowScarecrow Posts: 169
edited November 2014 in Carrara Discussion

So I'm totally new to Carrara, just got it last week. Every single time I try to load something I get promted to set up my default runtime, everytime I try to, but nothing happens, the window just closes and I still have no runtime. I have tried to auto detect runtimes, still nothing. I can load Michael 4 but if try to load genesis or genesis 2 it fails. Daz studio works fine, everything has been installed with Daz install manager. I'm baffled, any help woul be appreciated. Windows 7 64 bit.

Post edited by Scarecrow on

Comments

• JimmyC_2009JimmyC_2009 Posts: 8,891
    edited December 1969

I assume we are talking about Carrara 8.5, if not Genesis wont work anyway?

If you installed your content using the DIM, then in Carrara you need to enter two paths for that library. DIM install by default into
    C:\Users\Public\Documents\My DAZ 3D Library and this folder contains a folder called 'Runtime' which is where any Poser format content is installed to.

Genesis and Genesis 2 are NOT Poser format, but DAZ Studio format, and you need to enter the path for that as well. You should end up with two paths in your Content tab in Carrara, one called 'My DAZ 3D Library Runtime' for the Poser stuff, and the other called 'My DAZ 3D Library' for the DAZ Studio Format content (usually .DUF)

If you only have one of the above listed, then that is your problem I think.

• DartanbeckDartanbeck Posts: 21,326
    edited December 1969

Here's a cool Tutorial by Stezza on how he gets Carrara to communicate with his content.

• ScarecrowScarecrow Posts: 169
    edited December 1969

Yes Carrara 8.5, and yeah that sounds like my problem. My Daz 3d library is only there once. Thanks so much for the help.

edited December 1969

Well still can't get it to work...

edited November 2014

Now I'm not sure I know what the issue is, so let's try and start from the beginning, okay?