Bryce lighting

krisma12234krisma12234 Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Bryce Discussion

Hi and this is my first post (sorry I don't know how to use a forum)! I am completely new to what the Bryce lighting application is - when do you use it and what is it for? Thanks for helping me!

Comments

• fixmypcmikefixmypcmike Posts: 19,565
    edited December 1969

Bryce Lightning is for network rendering -- you install Bryce Lightning on the "slave" machines, then the main machine parcels out sections for each machine to render and collates the results.

• krisma12234krisma12234 Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

ahh, so for example half the image renders on one pc, and the other half renders on this computer? cool! If i have lighting on two computers, how do i start it?
    thanks!

• HoroHoro Posts: 10,294
    edited December 1969

@krisma12234 - welcome to these forums. As fixmypcmike sais, Lightning is the Bryce network render client. Up to 16 computers can share the work. If you render an animation, the individual frames are sent to the client computer to crunch, for a still, you set it to tile optimization and the host sends 100 x 100 pixel tiles to the clients. The host assembles the render.

Yes, you can use 2 computers. Start Lightning on the host and client. Set Priority as desired on the host, this will set the priority for the client(s). I have a PDF document on my website Bryce Lightning (Network Rendering) that should help you getting it started.

Come back if you need more help.

edited December 1969

thanks @horo for your excellent pdf! one last question, if I want to render one image on bryce, can I set it up so it renders on two or more computers!
    thanks!!

edited December 1969

Glad it helped. Yes, that's what I call "still" in the PDF, a still picture is a single picture as opposed to an animation, which is usually not still. It is not very intuitive to start a network render for a single (still) image and have to go via Render Animation.