How to "glue" clothes and hair to the character for the export.

The title says it all.

How to have clothes baked to the character, and if possible remove parts of the body covered by such clothes all in Carrara 8.5 Pro?

I would like to have a character and all clothes and hair connected to the character permanently,

but still have a possibility to pose and animate such combo.

I have purchased my first Carrara 5 Pro in 2007 and I am still a newbie of using it.

And yes, I have also purchased Carrara 8.5 Pro in 2013 and still a newbie with using it, as well.

Comments

• DartanbeckDartanbeck Posts: 21,323

I hope this helps:

Carrara is Magic on how it can load Poser/Daz 3d content directly from a runtime or content library as we would in either of the main host applications.

Unfortunately, it's actually kind of a one-way trip, meaning that we cannot 'export' to either CR2 (Poser figure) or DUF (Daz Studio Actor) formats.

However, what we can do, and this is how I work, is to save the character (or anything we make in Carrara) to its own browser. This will keep everything together as we have it in the scene. It saves everything.

It has been recommended to not use compression when doing so, as compressed saves can sometimes get corrupted, and never open again. 

I have a little article here on making a custom browser system for Carrara: Creating a Custom Browser in Carrara

There are a lot of fun articles and projects going on, and within my Character Setup section (within Carrara CG Workshop's Pre-production Phase) is a fun little excercise: Character Design, which shows how I optimize my characters for Carrara and even includes a free scene file download with the scene setup I use in the video.

Here's the video:

Again, I really hope this helps. There's a Lot to Carrara, and it just makes life so much easier for me in the end. I love how easy it is to use, once we get to know it, and yet we can do Anything CG within it! It's a vast and wonderful software!