How can I get rid of unwanted shadow artifacts?

naqlnaql Posts: 25
edited December 2014 in Carrara Discussion

Hello,

I have been using DAZ and Poser off and on for several years, but am still a bit of a novice. Several months ago I purchased Carrara, but I immediately ran into all sorts of crashing problems and I didn't get far with it. So, I have picked it up again and am starting over. First, let me say that I am running on a late 2011 17" macbook pro with 16 gigs of memory.

I purchased the "Stoney Creek" environment scene, which I think is absolutely amazing. Aside from the fact that Carrara immediately seems to become unresponsive with a spinning ball whenever I click on the "Objects" tab in the Assembly room, I have been able to produce some nice renderings. (I assume that is because there are so many objects in this scene…. I have let it sit and spin for over an hour at most before forcing the program to quit. Any suggestions on that?)

My question today though has to do with the rendering of Victoria 6 wearing the Maid outfit. I first noticed that her white apron had leaf patterned shadows on it which I thought looked unnatural. The less direct light on the subject the worse it looks. Take a look at the attached renderings. I can reduce this effect by increasing the amount of light on the subject, but I can't seem to get it to go away. Also, there is a dark band on Victoria's forehead between the hair line and the eyebrows. Regardless of the angle or the amount of light, it just seems too dark. Note that in sample2, without a spot directly on her, there is even mottling of the skin on her face.

So, is this a shader or a lighting issue? It definitely seems to be related to shadow rendering.

sample3.png
375 x 852 - 467K
sample2.png
340 x 805 - 336K
sample1.png
314 x 653 - 314K
Post edited by naql on

Comments

• JonstarkJonstark Posts: 2,738
    edited December 1969