Animating Volumetric Clouds

NW316NW316 Posts: 79
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

Hello,
I am new to Carrara but loving what I'm learning so far in 8.5. I am experiencing a lot of pixelization when animating volumetric clouds. Currently, I just have one cloud and one light Sun light working with Realistic Skies, where the sun is lighting the scene with the disk behind the volumetric cloud. Advice?

Thanks!

Don

RNR071.png
960 x 540 - 368K

Comments

• BrianP21361BrianP21361 Posts: 807
    edited December 1969

Don,

I've had similar issues. I think you can eliminate this by bumping up the accuracy setting in the cloud dialog. It will slow down rendering, but should eliminate the artifacts.

Screen_Shot_2014-12-11_at_10.40_.53_AM_.png
    1150 x 770 - 186K
  • NW316NW316 Posts: 79
    edited December 1969

Thanks, Brian! I will give it a try. Say, I really like what I've been learning of this program but have a lot of questions, i.e., I can't find the 'About Carrara' to see exactly what version of the program I'm running, the alpha channel in my texture editor displays no 'values' options, most of the DAZ figures clothing doesn't operate or fit correctly with my models.... Is this the best place to come in order to get help with these types of issues in your experience?

Thanks again!

• BrianP21361BrianP21361 Posts: 807
    edited December 1969

The people here are very knowledgeable and helpful. You can find the about box under the Daz logo in the top left hand corner. The shaders for the Daz figures don't always load properly because of differences with Studios shaders. You may have to add things like alpha, bump, displacement maps, etc manually.

Screen_Shot_2014-12-11_at_11.14_.25_AM_.png
    359 x 191 - 31K
  • JonstarkJonstark Posts: 2,738
    edited December 1969

Generally the alpha channel should either be off altogether, set to the 0 - 100 % channel, or set to a texture map channel, depending on what you need.