Benefits of using Bryce for animation

cleveret1cleveret1 Posts: 30
edited December 1969 in Bryce Discussion

Hello Everyone,

I am brand new to 3D, but always looking forward to the future. I keep seeing everyone opting to animate in Bryce or Carrera. I was just wondering what the benefits would be to animating in a separate software from Daz studio. Is it easier for camera movements, does it render faster, etc?

Thanks!

Comments

• Dave SavageDave Savage Posts: 2,433
    edited December 1969

The advantages depend on what you are wanting to animate.

For example: Animating movement of characters like V4, Genesis or suchlike is near impossible.
    But rendering good dynamic atmospheres in DAZ Studio isn't good.

• cleveret1cleveret1 Posts: 30
    edited December 1969

So say I wanted to animate a warrior traveling through a dynamic sandy desert, I should animate the warrior in Daz and and the sandstorm in Bryce?

• OroborosOroboros Posts: 326
    edited December 1969

cleveret1 said:
    So say I wanted to animate a warrior traveling through a dynamic sandy desert, I should animate the warrior in Daz and and the sandstorm in Bryce?

Yes, and no, respectively.

I don't know what Carrara offers, but DAZ offers ani-blocks, which makes walk cycles possible, and therefore, easier to set up.

Bryce does not have collision physics or particle physics. If you had visions of sand washing over a struggling warrior's feet as it waded over endless dunes, or even just leaving footprints in the warrior's wake, you have an enormous task ahead of you to make it look good in Bryce. Bryce will get you some nice looking, static dunes. You'll need a different 3D app to make dynamic sand and shifting dunes, and my limited knowledge of DAZ doesn't tell me what other apps will import DAZ-native models and animations seamlessly into them. Some will take the models fine, but remove the animation sequence.