using Daz3d content items...converting, etc. for use in Iclone.

lenwilderlenwilder Posts: 188
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

I have been watching the sale promotions since I came on board with Carrara.

Carrara does a lot of extra things for what I am doing that arent' available in iclone, my tool of choice for producing video.
When I am more familiar with Carrara I could very well revert to it as my choicie for video production. I have three years of experience working with iclone...I am familiar with it and my workflow is good.
Iclone has an excellent application for converting content (3DXchange) from Daz3d content, but I'm not familiar with how well it works.
I have converted some FBX and OBJ files into iclone using the 3Dxchange on a limited basis,but the files were not from Daz3d.

How well do Daz3d application content items convert? This may be a question for someone experienced with Carrara and iclone.
There are some buildings and content items for creating scenes I am interested to use, but I'm not sure they will convert properly.
There are some very good explanations/tutors available for converting avatar/characters into iclone.
I may tackle characters in the near future. I am in need of buildings, scenes and props for current projects.

I sometimes use Sketchup models that I convert to iclone. I cannot do much with them, because iclone is not a model builder/editor.
The things you can do with it are limited in that respect. That is why my interest in Carrara and other Daz3d applications.

Comments

• evilproducerevilproducer Posts: 9,050
    edited December 1969

Wendy would be the one to talk to here!

• WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 38,040
    edited December 1969

For DAZ figures and content exporting from the free DAZ studio your best option for iClone especially genesis where you can use the facial preset from Reallusion to automate the process.