Problem fitting hair/clothing onto Genesis 2 actor

SteveG52SteveG52 Posts: 11
edited January 2015 in Carrara Discussion

I've been using Daz Studio for about 3 years and recently decided to try Carrara because of the great platinum club discount. I'm encountering odd behaviors in the paid program that simply work right in the free Daz studio. For example, when I load Genesis 2 female into a Carrara 8.5 pro scene and then drag hair and clothing onto her name in the instances tab, the hair and clothing fit as they should.

However, if I load a Genesis 2 actor into the scene, the hair and wardrobe don't fit at all. So I thought I would try a workaround by going to Daz studio and fitting the items to the new Keiko actor, which works perfectly there, and then save it as a scene. I went back to Carrara and opened the scene and as you can see below Carrara made a mess of it. It doesn't seem to handle actors well.

One other thing. When I load Genesis 2 and the wardrobe successfully as I described in the first paragraph and then select a pose, only the figure moves but not the clothing. Any advice is appreciated on what I'm not doing right. Thanks.

Keiko_daz.jpg
569 x 759 - 65K
Post edited by SteveG52 on

Comments

• DiomedeDiomede Posts: 15,125
    edited December 1969

A couple of different work flows are possible. The majority (at least of those who have spoken up) prefer to assemble the character, clothes, hair, etc. in Studio and save as a scene preset. They then open the scene duf in Carrara and may have to reconform the clothes and hair. Some others, including me, prefer to load each item individually from Carrara's browser (no Studio and no fit to if possible), then select them all simultaneously and create a group. The figure and the clothes are siblings in the same group, so to speak. Then I sequentially select the hair, cloth item, etc. and use Fit To one by one.