Laptop graphics card advice

CbirdCbird Posts: 493
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

This may be a stupid question, but I'm trying to choose between a couple laptops, and I'm not sure which card will be most useful.

I do have a desktop workstation, so this won't be my sole computer. I will be running Carrara, 3d-Coat, and Photoshop--for animation and stills. The two cards in question are the GTX 980m and the GTX 880m. They have the same number of cuda cores for Octane. The 980 is clearly faster, but it would be the 4 GB version, while the 880 has a pretty nice 8 GB. Will I be better off going for speed, or is giving up some speed for the extra memory a good trade?

I'd appreciate any thoughts on this. I'm hoping to decide soon, in case my husband has picked up on the Valentine's hints, lol.

Comments

• fixmypcmikefixmypcmike Posts: 19,580
    edited December 1969

I'm not an expert on this, but I would lean toward the higher VRAM -- I suspect that will be the limiting factor when using GPU-based render engines.

I'm pretty sure that this isn't an issue with those two cards, but some of the monster graphics cards are actually two or more separate "cards" in one, so the actual maximum VRAM you can use on a single scene is only half of the total.

Another thing worth checking for a laptop in particular is the heat output (and cooling capacity of the laptop if they're substantially different) -- laptops don't dissipate heat as easily as desktops do, so you'll want to make sure the system can handle the heat produced by running the GPU's full-bore for long periods.

• CbirdCbird Posts: 493
    edited December 1969

That's all helpful, fixmypcmike, thank you.
    The tip on the bigger cards will be something I should keep in mind when I look to replace the desktop too.

• DustRiderDustRider Posts: 2,716
    edited December 1969