Importance of illusion

Originally i came to Bryce from more realtime-focused experience (e.g. i made this little virtual art museum project together with my friend during student years, using Unreal 3 technology; see video if interested).

And when i started learning Bryce, which aimed more at creation of still renders, i noticed interesting thing when watched tutorials and inspecting demo scenes. That in most cases you don't need to make "the whole environments" (something that is required for animation and/or realtime experiences like VR or games), so e.g. with objects and materials in far, far background it's wise to optimize and do them in economic way.

But also, what surprsed me, how often "illusion" is used. Like, for example, making lighting with upside-down bryce tree. Or those "fake grass / fake tress" techniques i know from Horo & David. Sometimes such "illusions" are really unexpected and creative. And i think art of doing them is kinda getting lost with more modern approaches (where you need to model/compose everything in a way you can freely roam/fly around and quality is the same in every part of scene).

So, what do you all think about this? Would love to hear opinions on matter.

Comments

• Yes, this is true. I long ago paid attention that many Bryce scenes look empty without people. In order to correct this any users began to use models from Poser (as well as form DS later). It was ok for the foreground but literary several figures demanded all computer resources preventing the work on the scene. But the idea is that people's figures are necessary for the middle or background, not the foreground, and more than just 2-3. So not to waste computer resources on "heavy" figures with difficult geomentry I had an idea, I learned how to make by Bryce tools simplified figures which would look terribly in the foreground but are quite good and look nearly the same as the ones imported from DS or Poser in the middle/background.

• HansmarHansmar Posts: 2,756