Create Geoshell...?

I feel as though this is a really dumb question but I just can't see the answer myself (even though it's probably staring me in the face) - how do I go about creating a geoshell for a character?

I'm wanting to have a look at the vellus horizon hair shader and the first step in that is to create a geoshell to which the shader is then applied. The guidance just says 'apply a geoshell' assuming we'll all know how to do that. Not a criticism of the guidance at all, you understand, it's just I've never tried before and can't see where to start!

So, never ashamed to parade my ignorance, can someone please give me the pointers...?

Thanks!

Comments

• hansolocambohansolocambo Posts: 649
    edited March 2022

This bundle indeed does not have an icon to add a geoshell :/   ...

1/ Select Genesis 8 in the Scene Tab. Make the Geoshell manually :

Main Menu > Create > New Geometry Shell.

2/ Select the Geometry Shell in the Scene Tab. Click on the Icon USE FIRST :

Content Library > My DAZ Library > Shader Presets > Those Things > Vellus Horizon Shaders > USE FIRST

Then choose which hair system to add.

EDIT : Although I just tried that and I can't see anything that looks like vellus anywhere on the shell. I tried to apply the Vellus icons for the torso for example, while Torso in the Surfaces Tab is selected and... nothing as well. If you check the torso shader after applying the so called Vellus torso, the only bitmap loaded is an opactity map that doesn't look like hair at all...

Weird bundle... Promo pics were not convincing, I'm glad I didn't buy it.

"Peach Fuzz! Facial Vellus Hair for Genesis 3 Female(s)"  gives way better results. As hairs are actual geometry.

Good luck.

Post edited by hansolocambo on
  • JansillaJansilla Posts: 36