Best workflow for rigging fbx models for Carrara use? (And some new videos)

teknostormteknostorm Posts: 163
edited May 2015 in Carrara Discussion

Hi,

NOTE: My question is how to rig fbx (and c4d) models for use in Carrara. Not how to import bvh and aniMate files into carrara! (Edit added to avoid confusion!~)

I would like to import some fbx characters and animate them in Carrara using aniMate and bvh files, and also using normal Carrara posing controls (to make them sit, wave etc). I also want to make them lip sync using Mimic Pro.

What is the best workflow to doing this? Should I do this in Carrara, Daz, or some other third party software? I have 3dexchange from iclone but I have zero experience with rigging!

I would also like to do these with Cinema4D characters (already rigged). How do I import into Carrara with rigging and textures?

Also, here are some new videos I did completely in Carrara (except for some edits in Sony Vegas Pro editing software) -

Wheels On The Bus -
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=leDToFy9z1k
(I could not figure out how to make the wipers of the bus move. It's 'curious bus' purchased from daz store. I did manage to make the doors and wheels move.)

Twinkle Twinkle Little Star -
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sXtV7KjPH5c

Old MacDonald Had A Farm (2 versions) -
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OgDny7ik3ng

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p6KOobSwfXY

(I rendered the dancers separately, and the animals separately. I used the same rendered animals sequence in both the videos).

Post edited by teknostorm on

Comments

• evilproducerevilproducer Posts: 9,050
    edited December 1969

I don't have any experience importing animated fbx files.