Iray for non realism!

Hi everyone. I appreciate this may seem a little odd but I'm looking to use Iray (Been a 3DL user for years now) as I find rendering HD figs takes forever (even on a pretty decent PC) I'm primarily a comic artist using Daz so use a lot of Age of Armour lights and Uberlighting and then take my render into Hitfilm for postmark. The image attached is lit with Uberlighting and further embellished in Hitfilm and took about 20 mins to render. I've hardly dabbled in Iray as the photo real look wasn't my thing but can Iray get me these sort of non realistic results? If so can anyone recommend a tutorial (YouTube or paid) that could point me in the right direction? Thank you for anyone who can advise me!
I-01.png
800 x 450 - 510K

Comments

• juvesatrianijuvesatriani Posts: 556

It depend how Non Realistic you want to achieve . Using right lighting and materials for sure can help you . And yes you`re also need postwork ( color shifting - exposure etc ) if you want to push further. 

What makes NPR mostly about simple shape - limited color palette or tones and line art , but everyone have different ideas about Non photo Realistic especially when you like to blend with bit of realism. So as long your render at least have those three elements that will easier for you to push into Non Photo Realistic

• Thank you for the reply. Ideally I'm looking for similar realism like in the attached image I've done in 3DL as hyper realism isn't my main goal. Overall I'm actually still very happy with 3DL, it works for me and the projects I work on but its purely due to HD figures taking forever to render in 3Dl but I find they render quicker in Iray is whats making me look down the iray route. Gonna sit and play with some render settings but thanks for taking time to reply! Appreciate it
  • vrba79vrba79 Posts: 1,297
    edited May 2022