Where to start in the Daz Store?

Hey guys, Mike here. I just started working with Daz Studio for the first time yesterday. So far so good. I want to start getting some content for it ftom thr Daz store. I'm an author co-writing a young adult contemporary/urban fantasy series.

My main goal is to make characters from the book series, essentially teenage age and up. Do i focus mainly buying hair and wardrobe sets? Are morphs and pose sets essential? Trying to mske sure I'm buying material that'll be used a bit. Thank you in advance.

Mike

Comments

• Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 96,718

To an extent that is a matter of taste and skills - you could, in principle, make any of those yourself. Several characters or a few morph sets would allow you to set up different bodies and faces, characters would give you skins (or you could use Skin Builder, though it has only a female version for Genesis 8 so whether it would cover the male characters would depend on their age). Poses are not that hard to make if you have the eye, and they don't require any external tools, but having soem sets as starting points may be a time-saver - just bear in mind that a lot of sets lean pin-uppy, which isn't going to suit YA characters.

• GordigGordig Posts: 9,121

As Richard said, what you need will depend largely on what skills you already have, if any. Some absolutely critical tools are the base morph packs for whatever generation you're working with, and it's advisable to stick with a single generation, whichever one you choose. For example, if you choose Genesis 8, you'll need the following:

https://www.daz3d.com/genesis-8-female-body-morphs

https://www.daz3d.com/genesis-8-male-body-morphs

https://www.daz3d.com/genesis-8-female-head-morphs

https://www.daz3d.com/genesis-8-male-head-morphs