Book Covers

kathrynlochkathrynloch Posts: 378
edited December 1969 in Art Studio

Hello all,

I'm branching out from newb and exploring other threads and subforums here and I think it's time for me to run a thread here.

Not to blow my own horn but I'm a best selling author on Amazon and have gone from accountant/office manager to writing full time. This wasn't some crazy venture that started on a lark but a culmination of over 30 years of blood, sweat and tears in the publishing industry - oh yes - lots of tears.

I've been an artist for just as long as I've been a writer. I've worked in the more traditional forms of media in my youth but then focused on things like painting gaming miniatures on commission, competing with that artwork on the national level and doing the same with painting realistic equine sculptures. In the gaming miniature world, I'm known as "the pigment lady" because of my work bringing dry pigments from their accepted role in weathering and scenic aspects into an actual "paint" medium in their original dry form without using medium additives.

From there I branched into digital art with photoshop and am now expanding into the 3D realm.

As to book covers specifically, I have always recognized that 3D is the future. Right now the industry is ruled by royalty free stock imagery. My genres are sci/fi fantasy, and historical along with paranormal romance. Many might discount the romance genre, but it's come a long way since the years Fabio graced the covers - a 1.3 billion dollar industry. The historical research I put into my medieval novels can go toe to toe with any historian.