Question about licenses

DreamGamesDreamGames Posts: 39
edited October 2022 in Art Studio

Hello everyone! :) I don't know if I'm writing in the right section, and if I'm not, I apologize. I'm quite interested in "Visual Novel" games and just for fun I might like to try to create something. To be honest, I have no experience with such things, I've never done anything like that, but it's quite interesting for me. Of course, I'm not interested in becoming any famous game publisher haha, I'm just trying it all in my free time because I like to learn new things and I've started to enjoy it.

So my question to you more experienced people is.... Do I need an "Interactive License" if I want to use the product in my game, maybe publish the game in the future but never become a product that I would sell? This means that the game would be a "free download". I have absolutely no experience with these things so I apologize for such questions but causing myself a problem is the last thing I need. That's why I'd rather be informed before I start doing something. To clarify, I'm not interested in the characters. It concerns purely classic things such as clothes, environment and similar things.

Thank you for every answer and I wish everyone good luck ♥

Post edited by Richard Haseltine on

Comments

• Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 97,110
    edited October 2022

Moved to Art Studio as it is a licensing question, not a question about Daz Studio itself.

If the game is to be distributed then you need the relevant licenses - free or not is beside the point. Fortunately, if your visual novel is like most then all you will be sharing are images or possibly 2D animations: using either of those is covered by the base licenses granted with purchase, you would not ned to purchase an Interactive License. If the game does include 3D data then it would need an Interactive License, assuming it met the terms for that.

Post edited by Richard Haseltine on