Help --- Please -- I cannot access my files.

TomViolaTomViola Posts: 103
edited December 1969 in Technical Help (nuts n bolts)

I have been using DAZ Studio for more than 5 years. Over the past two years I have been creating graphic novels using DAZ. Two of my novels are available on Amazaon.com. I am in the middle of my third novel and I have been brought to a screaming halt. After more than 5 years of downloading characters, props, poses, environments, and other materials my laptop reached its max. So much so that it no longer operates. To solve the problem (or at least what I thought was a way to solve the problem) was to transfer all my files to another laptop using a terabite portable harddrive. That did not work. Now I cannot access any of the files I need to complete my graphic novel. I am using DAZ Studio 3.0.1,120.Windows 32 bit. (While I did download Studio 4, all my materials for my graphic novels are in Studio 3.) I get many error messages. Studio opens up with "No importer for file format can be found." In addition, I get message that indicate it call not find pieces of my items. I have all my content sources listed in my Directory. What am I missing or doing wrong.
Please help.

Comments

• JaderailJaderail Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Are you trying to open old Scene files? If you are you need the DATA dir form your old DS3 setup. You will also get errors if your Dirs in the DS3 Prefs are not in the same order as they were before. Some will tell you that does not matter, I find it does. I reDid my DS3 this year and had items missing untill I fixed the Add Dir order of my old content Dirs.

I hope this helps you.

• edited December 1969