Struggling to add Daz3D file into Poser

Hello

I've searched the internet for some tips and guidance but I'm still confused (and struggling) to add my Daz3d charcter into Poser correctly.

I've had a look at lots of documentation and videos but no joy, and hope I can find some help here :)

The problem I am experiencing

I am using Windows 7 and I did the default install Poser Pro with my files in the Shared Location (C:\Users\Public\Documents\Poser Pro 2014 Content)

I've purchased a bundle (http://www.daz3d.com/genesis-michael-victoria-combo-bundle) and I am trying to add the Michael figure into my library.

I downloaded the Michael file

And unzipped it, which gave me this

I've tried...

I appreciaite I'm a newb to this, but hoping someone could help guide me please?

Thanks

Comments

• LeanaLeana Posts: 11,094
    edited July 2015

Basically, to manually install a DAZ zip you unzip it to a temp folder, take whatever folders you find under "content" and put them in your content directory, which is the one which holds your poser Runtime. So the "runtime" in the zip should merge with the one in your poser library, and the folders which are next to it in the zip should go next to the one in your poser library.

One thing to consider too: Michael 5 is an add-on for Genesis,  so you need to install the "Genesis Starter Essentials" pack too.

I would suggest having a separate Poser content directory for DSON items and keep the default one for  items in Poser format, but it should work properly if you use the default one too. To add a library in Poser IIRC you have to display the top-level folder in the POser library Pane and there should be a (+)  button at the bottom of the pane, select the folder which holds you new Runtime to add it as a library.

Post edited by Leana on
  • Thank you Leana

You mention that that I need to install the Genesis Starter Essentials. Is this something I can download for free, or something I have to purchase?