Can someone point me in the right direction for animation?

I've been playing around with Daz for a couple months now and have finally figured out a workflow that produces consistently good renders.  Really good.  At least to my eye.  It took a lot of trial and error and I invested many hours in dead ends.

I now want to get into creating animations with IRay.  The stock Daz product does some animation, but it's pretty clear I need additional tools to make decent animations quickly.  I've been looking around and there are many different routes I can try, some of them pretty costly.

Can anyone direct me to the best utilities and workflow to create IRay based animations?

Comments

• larsmidnattlarsmidnatt Posts: 4,511
    edited August 2015

That is the crux of Daz Studio. The best way to animate is really outside of daz studio. So you would potentially use other tools and then have to bring the animations back to DS. Some people use iClone.

However there are some tools if you want to stay within DS.

Animate, Keymate and potentially Graphmate. I never use Graphmate myself, but Animate and Keymate get used a lot.

How do you intend to animate the figures? Hand animation? Custom motion capture or  will you buy stock animations and manipulate those? Also what figures are you using? These bits of info will steer you on how to decide what will work best.

Post edited by larsmidnatt on
  • tring01tring01 Posts: 305

Thanks so much for the reply!  Yes, I've been lookig at iClone and it looks like a good route.  Not sure how it will work ithe iRay skins.  Animate 2 is also interesting, but I don't have access to the kind of server farms it would take to render even a one minute animtion at 25 fps with IRay in Daz.  That much I have figured out.  My target animation length (for now) is 5 to 10 minutes.