Catchlight overview and how DS 4.8 handles the process....

Greetings all.....I'm a master photographer that has been using Poser to aid in the teaching of photography based lighting. However, the last few updates of Poser using the DSON importer has been a disaster for me and so have brought DS out of the closet and updated it to 4.8 running on a Mac Pro 2013.

After perusing the DS, Renderosity and other forums as well as extensive web searching I have yet to find a place, document, or tutorial that even begins to explain light reflection in the eyes. My one big gripe with all the Daz/Poser output has always been the fake looking eyes and it seems like now most everyone is using reflection maps which is ok in its place for static output. However, with Poser, you can set the specular color, hilite and size for each eye component and get realistic catchlights that do a good job of mimicing real world studio lighting. You can also see this process previewed in real time as you move the lights around because the catchlights show up just fine which makes it easier to explain the subtleties of simple and/or complex light placement.

I would appreciate any feedback on exactly what is happening here. I'm not a newb and use Poser and Vue Inifinite quite a lot but DS 4.8's lighting scenario just doesn't make much sense for real world simulation although I do like the iRay implementation and the use of emmisive light sources with it.

I've used G2 and G3 builtin and custom people as well as own V4 and V6 with various addons.

Regards,
MT

Comments

• ToborTobor Posts: 2,300
    edited September 2015

In D|S with Iray, you can remove the artificial eye glints in the eye MATs, and go straight with light-based reflections. This subject has been discussed in several threads here since the release or Iray, but in a nutshell:

1. Apply a suitable Iray surface to the eye reflection (or whatever it's called in the specific model you are using). Thin Water is often used.