Freshly Installing DAZ 4.8 on a New PC with a SATA and an SSD Drive

I am new to DAZ. Quickly got addicted, purchased $500 or so in the first two months. I just got a new PC to handle rendering better and I am trying to install everything to the new machine. I downloaded DIM in hopes of installing the program to my SATA drive so it wouldn't take up room on my smaller 250GB SSD. But when I ran the .exe file, it installed everything immediately to my C Drive (the SSD). 

I uninstalled everything and now I need to start over. Two questions:

1. Is there a thread saying how you can do a fresh install onto the drive of your choice

2. If that's too much of a hassle and I just want to install it in the standard fashion, how can I get DIM to start and run and let ME decide which files to install, rather than downloading EVERYTHING automatically? 

I've been searching these forums for a few days with no clear answer.

Thanks!

Comments

• frank0314frank0314 Posts: 13,439

DIM has to be said on your main HD/SSD. You can download and install to a separate location, say a secondary drive. Once you get DIM installed on your main HD just point DIM where you want everything to go. The main app takes next to nothing in space.

• nicsttnicstt Posts: 11,714
    edited October 2015

I have an SSD as main and well, a number of drives and SSDs.

Install Daz, to C drive; basically derfault install for Daz and the Install Manager.

Once installed set your content library location to you Mechanical Hard Drive (Not SSD)

The small image shows how I make backups of files from three places and store them in the folder shown

App Data is under: C:\Users\[YOUR_NAME]\Downloads - although under Windows 10 it might be some combination of various characters if you did the free upgrade

The _withHexagon just means when entering the folder there is a Hexagon folder as well, you might not have or might be different.

Untitled-2 copy.jpg
    485 x 142 - 58K
    Post edited by nicstt on