I ask for more historical accuracy of vintage clothing

AOBBAOBB Posts: 957
edited September 2023 in Product Suggestions

I am not an expert on all things vintage but... 

I would love it if the vendors did more research into the clothing styles from the periods they  are supposed to represent and also not sell clothing from 1919 as 1940s attire. Yes, that happened with a very nice set of male clothing inspired obviously by a popular tv series. 

Another thing - this is a bit late to complain about but while I'm at it... The Noir (as represented by the world of Bonnie 8.1) period is sold as a roaring twenties phenomenon when it in fact belonged to the 1940s and early 1950s period. 

Also, in reference to an outfit that just came out. This is what a classic 1950's suit looked like really ( narrow waistlines were en vogue, also note the length of the skirts and jackets):

50s-Fashion-The-VOU-Skirt-Suit-01.jpg
1000 x 1250 - 354K
Post edited by AOBB on

Comments

• tailored is the keypoint yes

the one newly released is one size fits all more like the shirt dresses and suits of the 80's

• AOBBAOBB Posts: 957

Yes, those 1930-1950s clothes were tailored, chic. Which cannot be said of the 3d outfit that was released just now.

• memcneil70memcneil70 Posts: 4,028

I bypassed that outfit you are referring to. My mother was married in a dusty pink suit in 1949 very like the suit you show above @AOBB and living my childhood in Los Angeles, CA we were very aware in the 50s of the styles worn by the actresses in Hollywood. They shopped in Paris and New York. And I don't remember anyone with style who wore a sack, unless they were from a place where magazines, TV, and movies didn't penetrate.

I also remember that advertisement.

Although there was a 'sack' dress, I always thought it was pretty ugly.

edited September 2023