Biblical high priest

I’m not an artist of any sort and not that skilled with DS. I’m a scholar/educator working on a project where I need a lot of illustrations of biblical-era scenes (not specific stories). Here’s my best attempt so far at the biblical high priest Aaron in his priestly vestments. I haven’t tried posing him … I think I’ll need to do a lot of tweaking when that time comes, but I only need him for a few scenes. I think he will probably be the most complex character in the project. Helpful suggestions and constructive criticism desired! For reference see https://brill.com/view/journals/jsj/52/3/article-p359_3.xml?ebody=figures. Sorry the render is a little dark.

If you see ways to improve the character, please make suggestions! Most artists’ conceptions show the stones on the shoulders as rectangles, so I may try to replace those. I know he needs sandals. There are supposed to be inscriptions on all the stones and on the gold circlet, which I’ll add in Photoshop after rendering whatever scenes he’s in (if the gems are large enough to make that effort worthwhile).

High Priest Aaron Concept 1.png
830 x 1160 - 856K

Comments

• Hermit CrabHermit Crab Posts: 833
    edited December 2023

Apologies to all and to Mods.  The pictures in my posts following seem to be disappearing.  I will try to edit them back in.

Hi cheard, nice work and thanks for the link.

On and off, I too wish to create Biblical scenes but have not put too much effort into it yet.  My biggest ambition for this interest (which is one of many, unfortunately) would be to put together half-decent illustrations/renders but also to create physical 3d models of certain scenes based on the renders.  There is nothing commercial intended.

I have some references (children's bibles!) for clothing and will mostly rely on such modelling/sculpting skills that I have for the other scene assets.