alternatives to dforce

We have dforce for a while now. It is slow and unreliable on clothes, polygon - and strand based hair. 
In many other apps we have those simulations almost in real time, while dforce sometimes takes as long as a full blown render job.
My suggestion is an either complete dforce remake (dforce 2.0) or a new simulation engine. 3rd pardy developers welcome.
Please do not hint to any previous DS Sim solutions. Those have been even slower or more complicated.

Comments

• Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 100,099

And do the other applications simulate similar things or do they take much simpler inputs?

• richardandtracyrichardandtracy Posts: 5,569

As a professional engineer I will comment a bit.

dForce is effectively a special purpose finite element deflection analysis package. I have sat down and written a finite element modeller in C++ from scratch myself, and came to the conclusion the analysis was too difficult for me to code. It really is a heck of a task. Even if you only do it for one type of element - a 3 or 4 vertex facet instead of having capability for a pyramid or brick or line element too. And then you don't make provision for one or two nodes down each edge, either.

BUT