Glass with G.I. indirect light camera/photon mapping. Need help.

Zone 822Zone 822 Posts: 30
edited October 2012 in New Users

Hi everyone! I'm new to Daz but I have used trueSpace for a long time. I have the DS4.5/Bryce/Hexagon suite from the free offer.

I was very happy to discover that 3Delight is the render engine for DS!

I want to use DS for realistic architectural imageswith but I've found little about using 3Delight's global illumination abilities. I did find an example scene and an archived forum post about using the photon mapping brick (in shader mixer) for cameras and lights. I used that and have had good results except for glass.

I need help with glass with photon mapped, indirect light cameras and lights.

Glass problem 1: reflections. If I use very low opacity then the reflections are not very visible. Solution: super high reflection strength (2000% +).

Glass problem 2: glass plane opaque to indirect light. The "bounced" indirect light does not penetrate the glass plane.

Again, my goal is to create realistic architectural images with GI lighting. If there are other ways to do this I welcome your advice. Can Bryce do GI lighting?

Test images. Boxes, torus, and cone with a glass plane to the right of the torus. One photon mapped distant light and one photon mapped point light.

DazGI_6 - Indirect light camera. Glass 0% opacity. Glass and reflection invisible. Direct light goes through to outside but does not bounce back in through glass. Ceiling lit outside glass by bounced light but stops there not lighting inside ceiling.

DazGI_7 - Indirect light camera. Glass 0.5% opacity. Slight reflection visible. Ceiling looks dark beyond glass.

DazGI_8 - Normal render. Glass has slight reflection visible.

DazGI_8.jpg
492 x 450 - 17K
DazGI_7.jpg
492 x 450 - 51K
DazGI_6.jpg
493 x 453 - 58K
Post edited by Zone 822 on

Comments

• Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 97,233
    edited December 1969