Newbie with a couple of problems

geoff6geoff6 Posts: 250
edited July 2016 in Carrara Discussion

Hi all,

I've been Using Daz3D for a couple of years and I have just started looking through Carrara 8.5 Pro.

My initial problems are these: This version was downloaded using DIM from the Daz website. Attempting to open a preset results in a warning that wizards have not been found and that they need to be installed from the CD. Likewise with the objects library.

Clicking on any of the web drop down menu options, i.e. tutotials and support, results in a page 404 error.

As you can see, it's a bit difficult to get started when half the application appears to be missing.

All help gratefully received,

Thanks in advance,

G

Post edited by geoff6 on

Comments

• mikael-aronssonmikael-aronsson Posts: 549
    edited July 2016

I have not installed it for long time but isn't it two installations ? the software and the content package ? I don't have it here so cannot check at the moment, it sound like you are missing that part.

Edit: No I was wrong, just checked the product library and it's just one .exe file so should be ok, but it does sound like some part is missing for some reason.

Post edited by mikael-aronsson on
  • 3DAGE3DAGE Posts: 3,311

Mikael was correct with the first guess,.

Carrara has two parts,.. the Main program,. and an installer for the Carrara Native Content (this part includes all the samples,.. models, shaders, scenes, and the scene wizards.

It should be called "Carrara 8 native content" (in DIM)

"Carrara render node" is only needed if you're running a small network of render slaves

Hope it helps ,. and Welcome :)

• geoff6geoff6 Posts: 250

Thanks guys, you're right, I was missing the native content files and DIM doesn't want to help as it's a zip file... So my next question is; where should I install the native content so that Carrara sees it?

Thanks again,

G

• TangoAlphaTangoAlpha Posts: 4,584
    edited July 2016