Making a living

edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

I was just wondering if anyone here uses Carrara for making a living or part of making a living. If so how and what feedback do your clients give you

Comments

• SadotSadot Posts: 5
    edited December 1969

i use it as 1 of my tools in my daily work and none of my clients care where/how i do the job as far as i jet it done (raw but true)

• pnewhookpnewhook Posts: 70
    edited December 1969

I'm a systems engineer and am currently the technical lead for medical robotics at our company. I've been using Carrara since version 6, most for showing robotic range of motion. More recently I've expanded Carrara's role, using it for concept development, workspace analysis and iterating kinematic solutions. I've found it to be invaluable and a huge time saver.

I started using Carrara as it has great facility to display people, something that standard engineering tools do very poorly. And as such it has been great for showing concepts to non-engineering people in the medical field such as doctors and investors.

Unfortunately most of the renders and animations I end up doing are proprietary. My current project though should be released in the next 6 months; once it's released I'll see if I can post some of the images here for those that are curious.

• DartanbeckDartanbeck Posts: 21,326
    edited December 1969

Very cool, both of you! Yes, I am very interested in seeing those images.
    I purchased Carrara for the sake of making a series of 'hobby' movies. I've been so busy since then, mostly getting stages and characters set up and saved to the browser - building and saving shaders and effects, etc., that now that I'm getting ready to start rendering out some animations, I'm finding that Carrara has tools that can help me to get much nicer animation sequences - but I don't know them yet! lol
    So I'm getting back into another mode of study and experimentation.