PC Crash while using DAZ Studio

mbug90mbug90 Posts: 51

Today I was using DAZ Studio and was posing a model when my PC decided to crash.  It was the first time my new PC had a BSOD at all.  The code was INTERRUPT_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED

I'm on Windows 10.

Dump file here: https://1drv.ms/u/s!AhpXMWQ8tVpLfiElHb0KVHJ4KSU?e=SEH0qK

 

Post edited by mbug90 on
«1

Comments

  • jmtbankjmtbank Posts: 126

    If its a one off, its a one off.  You just cant read enough into it. 

    That said, Daz does usually find a way of exposing PCs that are not quite 100% stable more so than browsing and games I've found.

  • ebergerlyebergerly Posts: 3,255

    In the search bar type "reliability history" and you'll see a graphic showing all the important events that have occured on your PC in recent days/weeks, including driver installs, hardware problems, software crashes, etc. 

    Even though Windows is the OS we love to hate, it does have some very nice troubleshooting and monitoring features. 

  • mbug90mbug90 Posts: 51

    ebergerly said:

    In the search bar type "reliability history" and you'll see a graphic showing all the important events that have occured on your PC in recent days/weeks, including driver installs, hardware problems, software crashes, etc. 

    Even though Windows is the OS we love to hate, it does have some very nice troubleshooting and monitoring features. 

    I went to that reliability history and found this.  Don't know what it means though.

    Source

    Windows

     

    Summary

    Hardware error

     

    Date

    ‎5/‎30/‎2021 4:11 PM

     

    Status

    Ready for upload

     

    Description

    A problem with your hardware caused Windows to stop working correctly.

     

    Problem signature

    Problem Event Name: LiveKernelEvent

    Code: 193

    Parameter 1: 804

    Parameter 2: ffffffffc0000001

    Parameter 3: 108

    Parameter 4: fffff8057abdb770

    OS version: 10_0_19042

    Service Pack: 0_0

    Product: 768_1

    OS Version: 10.0.19042.2.0.0.768.101

    Locale ID: 1033

     

    Files that help describe the problem

    WATCHDOG-20210501-1151.dmp

    sysdata.xml

    WERInternalMetadata.xml

    WERInternalRequest.xml

    memory.csv

    sysinfo.txt

    WERDataCollectionStatus.txt

     

    Extra information about the problem

    Server information: 909ad8fc-9638-4323-96b2-43df3d6b3e21

     

  • mbug90mbug90 Posts: 51

    Also, here's an analysis of one of the dmp files: 

    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    VIDEO_DXGKRNL_LIVEDUMP (193)
    Livedumps triggered by dxgkrnl
    Arguments:
    Arg1: 0000000000000804, Reason Code.
    	100 Internal
    Arg2: ffffffffc0000001, Reserved.
    Arg3: 0000000000000108, Reserved.
    Arg4: fffff8039ad8b770, Reserved.
    
    Debugging Details:
    ------------------
    
    
    KEY_VALUES_STRING: 1
    
        Key  : Analysis.CPU.mSec
        Value: 1905
    
        Key  : Analysis.DebugAnalysisManager
        Value: Create
    
        Key  : Analysis.Elapsed.mSec
        Value: 1908
    
        Key  : Analysis.Init.CPU.mSec
        Value: 249
    
        Key  : Analysis.Init.Elapsed.mSec
        Value: 4979
    
        Key  : Analysis.Memory.CommitPeak.Mb
        Value: 85
    
    
    DUMP_FILE_ATTRIBUTES: 0x18
      Kernel Generated Triage Dump
      Live Generated Dump
    
    BUGCHECK_CODE:  193
    
    BUGCHECK_P1: 804
    
    BUGCHECK_P2: ffffffffc0000001
    
    BUGCHECK_P3: 108
    
    BUGCHECK_P4: fffff8039ad8b770
    
    PROCESS_NAME:  csrss.exe
    
    STACK_TEXT:  
    ffff9b80`7b967310 fffff803`9ad70ea0     : 00000000`00000108 ffffffff`fffffffd ffffe687`4569d180 00000000`00000000 : watchdog!WdpDbgCaptureTriageDump+0x64a
    ffff9b80`7b9673c0 fffff803`9ad70d7d     : ffffe687`4569de68 fffff803`83a61569 ffffe687`3e621a30 00000000`00000000 : watchdog!WdDbgReportRecreate+0xd0
    ffff9b80`7b967420 fffff803`9abcce8f     : ffffe687`4569ded0 ffffffff`fffffffd 00000000`00000010 fffff803`9abcce50 : watchdog!WdDbgReportCreate+0x3d
    ffff9b80`7b967480 fffff803`9aba93d0     : 00000000`00000108 ffffffff`fffffffd ffffe687`4569d180 ffffe687`00000000 : dxgkrnl!DxgCreateLiveDumpWithWdLogs+0x3f
    ffff9b80`7b9674d0 fffff803`9ab1f5e8     : ffffffff`fffffffd ffffe687`4569d180 00000000`00000001 00000000`00000001 : dxgkrnl!DpiFdoStartAdapter+0x880c0
    ffff9b80`7b967650 fffff803`9ab38d50     : ffff9ca4`3ba11040 00000000`00000000 ffffe687`3e637960 00000000`00000000 : dxgkrnl!DpiFdoStartAdapterThreadImpl+0x308
    ffff9b80`7b967800 fffff803`9ab0a9fa     : fffff803`9aa5fa00 00000000`00000000 ffffffff`fffffffd ffffe687`3e637960 : dxgkrnl!DpiFdoStartAdapterThread+0x30
    ffff9b80`7b967830 fffff803`9ab0a95f     : 00000000`00000000 ffffffff`fffffffd ffffe687`3e637960 00000000`00000000 : dxgkrnl!DpiSessionCreateCallback+0x52
    ffff9b80`7b967870 fffff803`9ad6e722     : 00000000`00000000 00000000`0000014c 00000000`0000014c 00000000`00000148 : dxgkrnl!DxgkNotifySessionStateChange+0xbf
    ffff9b80`7b9678c0 ffff9ca4`3c3d12d2     : ffffe687`3e62f900 00000000`0020001e ffff9ca4`3bdc73b0 00000000`00000148 : watchdog!SMgrNotifySessionChange+0x92
    ffff9b80`7b9678f0 ffff9ca4`3b80e2da     : 00000000`00000040 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`0000014c : win32k!SysEntrySMgrNotifySessionChange+0x12
    ffff9b80`7b967920 ffff9ca4`3b80dccb     : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00050246 ffff9b80`7b967978 00000000`00000018 : win32kbase!DrvNotifySessionStateChange+0x8a
    ffff9b80`7b967950 ffff9ca4`3b8158b4     : 00000000`00000000 00000000`0000014c 00000000`00000148 ffffe687`45727c60 : win32kbase!InitializeGreCSRSS+0x1b
    ffff9b80`7b967980 ffff9ca4`3c3d1466     : ffffe687`454a9080 ffff9b80`7b967a80 00000000`00000001 00000000`00000001 : win32kbase!Win32kBaseUserInitialize+0x124
    ffff9b80`7b9679d0 fffff803`83c077b5     : ffffe687`454a9000 00000000`00100000 ffff9b80`7b967a80 ffffe687`00000000 : win32k!NtUserInitialize+0x16
    ffff9b80`7b967a00 00007ffc`0c569b44     : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KiSystemServiceCopyEnd+0x25
    00000097`279bf5d8 00000000`00000000     : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : 0x00007ffc`0c569b44
    
    
    SYMBOL_NAME:  dxgkrnl!DxgCreateLiveDumpWithWdLogs+3f
    
    MODULE_NAME: dxgkrnl
    
    IMAGE_NAME:  dxgkrnl.sys
    
    IMAGE_VERSION:  10.0.19041.928
    
    STACK_COMMAND:  .thread ; .cxr ; kb
    
    BUCKET_ID_FUNC_OFFSET:  3f
    
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  LKD_0x193_dxgkrnl!DxgCreateLiveDumpWithWdLogs
    
    OSPLATFORM_TYPE:  x64
    
    OSNAME:  Windows 10
    
    FAILURE_ID_HASH:  {4b6fafa0-b740-8186-967a-4fb4d108708f}
    
    Followup:     MachineOwner
    ---------
    
  • ebergerlyebergerly Posts: 3,255

    Are you using a GPU? If so, were there any recent NIVDIA driver updates shown in Reliaibility History? My first thought with an error like that is a GPU driver problem or even a hardware problem. But since we know absolutely nothing about your system all we can do is speculate. Since it's a "new" computer, did you build it? Has it worked before with DAZ? 

  • mbug90mbug90 Posts: 51

    Device name WINDOWS-P35T52V

    Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-10900K CPU @ 3.70GHz   3.70 GHz

    Installed RAM 64.0 GB (63.9 GB usable)

    Device ID A94FDB29-EBBC-4A49-A20F-907948BD5789

    Product ID 00326-00873-87071-AAOEM

    System type 64-bit operating system, x64-based processor

    Pen and touch Pen support

     

    Edition Windows 10 Home

    Version 20H2

    Installed on ‎4/‎30/‎2021

    OS build 19042.985

    Experience Windows Feature Experience Pack 120.2212.2020.0

    -------------

    I am using a GPU.  It's an nvidia GeForce GTX 1650.  No driver updates were made recently and other users seem to be having problems with the latest version of Game Ready Drivers (see: https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/geforce/forums/game-ready-drivers/13/453674/geforce-46647-grd-feedback-thread-released-51821/).  Another company built the PC for me.  It has worked before with DAZ until that day.

  • ebergerlyebergerly Posts: 3,255

    Yeah, there's ALWAYS people having trouble with every NVIDIA driver release since the beginning of time. Apparently GPU drivers are the most difficult software on the planet to get right. You might try rolling back to an earlier version. Most new releases have almost nothing to do with most of us, and are designed only for the latest and greatest hardware and/or software. I generally wait 6 months or a year or more before updating GPU drivers, until the bugs get worked out. 

  • mbug90mbug90 Posts: 51
    jmtbank said:

    If its a one off, its a one off.  You just cant read enough into it. 

    That said, Daz does usually find a way of exposing PCs that are not quite 100% stable more so than browsing and games I've found.

    If what's a one off?
  • fred9803fred9803 Posts: 1,403

    I agree with jmtbank, if it only happened once I wouldn't even worry about it, let alone go searching for a problem. No computer is 100% reliable all the time.

  • ebergerlyebergerly Posts: 3,255

    A brand new computer that had a BSOD, and he shouldn't try to find out what went wrong? And if the cause of the problem was an error by the company that built it for him, or a hardware failure, he shouldn't pursue it, and he should just accept it? How many "one - offs" should he wait for? 

  • mbug90mbug90 Posts: 51
    Let's not argue with each other please.
  • fred9803fred9803 Posts: 1,403

    How many? Maybe when it becomes a persistent problem. I'm not arguing that it's a concern but one-off glitches are part and parcel of computing. DS crashed for me yesterday on my new rig for the first time using dForce and it could be one of a thousand things gone askew, hardware or software. Just restarted and the simulation worked perfectly. 

  • ebergerlyebergerly Posts: 3,255

    Just keep in mind that often the BSOD that the OP described is generally caused by either driver problems, or more likely, an actual hardware failure (as the error message described). The last time I had a BSOD on W10, years ago (in my experience BSOD's are extremely rare), it was due to a failing system hard drive, not a "one-off glitch". And especially if the hardware is under warranty I think it makes sense to pursue stuff like this, but that's just me.   

  • mbug90mbug90 Posts: 51
    edited June 2021

    ebergerly said:

    Just keep in mind that often the BSOD that the OP described is generally caused by either driver problems, or more likely, an actual hardware failure (as the error message described). The last time I had a BSOD on W10, years ago (in my experience BSOD's are extremely rare), it was due to a failing system hard drive, not a "one-off glitch". And especially if the hardware is under warranty I think it makes sense to pursue stuff like this, but that's just me.   

    But what in my PC could be failing?  It's been running fine since then.  Though I haven't tried using Daz Studio again yet.

    Post edited by mbug90 on
  • ebergerlyebergerly Posts: 3,255

    mbug90 said:  

    But what in my PC could be failing?  It's been running fine since then.  Though I haven't tried using Daz Studio again yet.

    Any hardware can fail at any time. As I said, maybe your system hard drive is failing, or maybe your GPU is having problems, or maybe your drivers are causing problems and need to be changed. 

    If it was me, I'd change my NVIDIA drivers to an earlier version, and run a disk check on my hard drive(s). And also try disabling your GPU and see if DAZ works okay without it (as in, no crashes when using only CPU, which would point to a GPU problem). 

    I'd also go thru the Reliability History and see what's been going on, and check the DAZ log file to see if there are any hints, and also check Task Manager while rendering to see what's going on with the GPU VRAM and what resources DAZ is using and so on. 

    Unfortunately, computers are a lot more complex than people give them credit for, and the only way you can find the culprit is look at the data. 

  • mbug90mbug90 Posts: 51

    ebergerly said:

    mbug90 said:  

    But what in my PC could be failing?  It's been running fine since then.  Though I haven't tried using Daz Studio again yet.

    Any hardware can fail at any time. As I said, maybe your system hard drive is failing, or maybe your GPU is having problems, or maybe your drivers are causing problems and need to be changed. 

    If it was me, I'd change my NVIDIA drivers to an earlier version, and run a disk check on my hard drive(s). And also try disabling your GPU and see if DAZ works okay without it (as in, no crashes when using only CPU, which would point to a GPU problem). 

    I'd also go thru the Reliability History and see what's been going on, and check the DAZ log file to see if there are any hints, and also check Task Manager while rendering to see what's going on with the GPU VRAM and what resources DAZ is using and so on. 

    Unfortunately, computers are a lot more complex than people give them credit for, and the only way you can find the culprit is look at the data. 

    I checked my system hard drive for errors (Properties -> Tools -> Error Checking).  The test came back clean.

    I've also attached the log file for DAZ though I don't see anything that looks remotely like a problem.

    Also, one more thing...  I wasn't rendering anything at all when it happened.

    txt
    txt
    log leading to pc crash.txt
    50K
  • ebergerlyebergerly Posts: 3,255

    So the last log entries looked like it had been going along fine loading character textures, then presumably that's when the PC had the BSOD? So it was actually a blue screen of death, W10 crash, and not a DAZ crash?

    My hunch is maybe it was trying to read another texture and encountered a hard drive failure. When I had my BSOD years ago due to a hard drive failure, I threw every disk test I could think of at it and they all said there was no problem, but on a hunch I just replaced the drive with a new one ( I recall the bad one was like 6+ years old or something) and that fixed it. 

    BTW, were you in Iray preview mode when you were posing the character? I've been having occasional DAZ crashes (not W10 BSOD's) when not rendering, but just working on the scene, but yours sounds like a system issue. 

    Maybe somebody knows of a reliable disk tester out there. 

  • mbug90mbug90 Posts: 51
    edited June 2021

    ebergerly said:

    So the last log entries looked like it had been going along fine loading character textures, then presumably that's when the PC had the BSOD? So it was actually a blue screen of death, W10 crash, and not a DAZ crash?

    My hunch is maybe it was trying to read another texture and encountered a hard drive failure. When I had my BSOD years ago due to a hard drive failure, I threw every disk test I could think of at it and they all said there was no problem, but on a hunch I just replaced the drive with a new one ( I recall the bad one was like 6+ years old or something) and that fixed it. 

    BTW, were you in Iray preview mode when you were posing the character? I've been having occasional DAZ crashes (not W10 BSOD's) when not rendering, but just working on the scene, but yours sounds like a system issue. 

    Maybe somebody knows of a reliable disk tester out there. 

    I've only had the PC for a few months now.  It's inconcievable that my SSD hard drive would fail so quickly.  I don't use Iray.

    And how could it be a hard drive failure if Error Checking says it's fine?

    Post edited by mbug90 on
  • IceCrMnIceCrMn Posts: 1,433

    Have you ran MemTest on it yet to see if you have any problems with the RAM?

    https://www.techpowerup.com/memtest64/

    No install needed.It's a stand alone diagnostic tool that runs on Windows.

    If it's a faulty RAM card you may be able to get it replaced for free if you still have time on your warranty.
    This is actually the first thing I run on a new PC build.I test each module separately if I have more than one so that it's easier to locate the faulty ones.

    Non-ECC consumer grade RAM isn't as reliable as many would think.I've gotten plenty that seemed to run fine until a certain area was used then Windows would BSOD.

    also, never assume a new electronic device is in perfect running condition.It's not uncommon to get RAM, hard drives, and just about anything else DOA(Dead on Arrival)  from the factory.

  • ebergerlyebergerly Posts: 3,255
    edited June 2021

    Yeah, all electronic components since the beginning of time have a probability of failure over time that's defined by a U-shaped "bathtub curve". It basically says that any electronic component is far more likely to fail when it's brand new, or when it's really old. But once it's been in service for a while ("mid-life") it's less likely to fail, since it has proven it has no defects and is therefore fairly reliable.

    Keep in mind that electronics are real complex and real tiny and require some insanely tight tolerances, so it' guaranteed that a certain percentage of new components will fail due to manufacturing errors, bad components/materials, installation errors, etc. So it's a coin toss if you'll be the lucky recipient of one of those failures. And depending on the manufacturer, the likelihoods could be much higher or much lower. Also, user error often creeps in and can cause unexpected failures. 

    Post edited by ebergerly on
  • mbug90mbug90 Posts: 51
    edited October 2021

    IT HAPPENED AGAIN!  I was posing a figure in DAZ Studio when my PC locked up and then BSOD'd!

    CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT (101)
    An expected clock interrupt was not received on a secondary processor in an
    MP system within the allocated interval. This indicates that the specified
    processor is hung and not processing interrupts.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: 000000000000000a, Clock interrupt time out interval in nominal clock ticks.
    Arg2: 0000000000000000, 0.
    Arg3: ffffa000d4840180, The PRCB address of the hung processor.
    Arg4: 0000000000000003, The index of the hung processor.
    
    Debugging Details:
    ------------------
    
    
    KEY_VALUES_STRING: 1
    
        Key  : Analysis.CPU.mSec
        Value: 4452
    
        Key  : Analysis.DebugAnalysisManager
        Value: Create
    
        Key  : Analysis.Elapsed.mSec
        Value: 4517
    
        Key  : Analysis.Init.CPU.mSec
        Value: 343
    
        Key  : Analysis.Init.Elapsed.mSec
        Value: 17453
    
        Key  : Analysis.Memory.CommitPeak.Mb
        Value: 290
    
        Key  : WER.OS.Branch
        Value: vb_release
    
        Key  : WER.OS.Timestamp
        Value: 2019-12-06T14:06:00Z
    
        Key  : WER.OS.Version
        Value: 10.0.19041.1
    
    
    BUGCHECK_CODE:  101
    
    BUGCHECK_P1: a
    
    BUGCHECK_P2: 0
    
    BUGCHECK_P3: ffffa000d4840180
    
    BUGCHECK_P4: 3
    
    FAULTING_PROCESSOR: 3
    
    PROCESS_NAME:  DAZStudio.exe
    
    FAULTING_THREAD:  ffffca85f2438080
    
    BLACKBOXBSD: 1 (!blackboxbsd)
    
    
    BLACKBOXNTFS: 1 (!blackboxntfs)
    
    
    BLACKBOXPNP: 1 (!blackboxpnp)
    
    
    BLACKBOXWINLOGON: 1
    
    TRAP_FRAME:  ffffa000d4895fc0 -- (.trap 0xffffa000d4895fc0)
    NOTE: The trap frame does not contain all registers.
    Some register values may be zeroed or incorrect.
    Unable to get program counter
    rax=41c78b44000b7fae rbx=0000000000000000 rcx=8b00000504bfcd8b
    rdx=5618688948105889 rsi=0000000000000000 rdi=0000000000000000
    rip=5985446600000001 rsp=4104740259854466 rbp=75d285482f74c985
     r8=4857415641544157  r9=480008608330ec83 r10=8948d88b0108408d
    r11=00000000767a6660 r12=0000000000000000 r13=0000000000000000
    r14=0000000000000000 r15=0000000000000000
    iopl=1         nv dn ei pl zr ac po cy
    4402:0001 ??              ???
    Resetting default scope
    
    BAD_STACK_POINTER:  ffffa000d4895fc0
    
    IP_IN_FREE_BLOCK: 0
    
    UNALIGNED_STACK_POINTER:  4104740259854466
    
    STACK_COMMAND:  .thread 0xffffca85f2438080 ; kb
    
    SYMBOL_NAME:  nt!KiPageFault+3c
    
    MODULE_NAME: nt
    
    IMAGE_NAME:  ntkrnlmp.exe
    
    BUCKET_ID_FUNC_OFFSET:  3c
    
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT_INTERRUPTS_DISABLED_STACKPTR_ERROR_nt!KiPageFault
    
    OS_VERSION:  10.0.19041.1
    
    BUILDLAB_STR:  vb_release
    
    OSPLATFORM_TYPE:  x64
    
    OSNAME:  Windows 10
    
    FAILURE_ID_HASH:  {e60d7807-5730-e0ca-55b3-3b4f578c8903}
    
    Followup:     MachineOwner
    Post edited by mbug90 on
  • mbug90mbug90 Posts: 51
    Bump
  • jmtbankjmtbank Posts: 126
    edited November 2021

    mbug90 said:

    IT HAPPENED AGAIN!  I was posing a figure in DAZ Studio when my PC locked up and then BSOD'd!

     

     

    Well I guess it ain't a one off.  I never trust log files, but its flat out blaming the CPU.   As you were posing a character, I probably also wouldnt assume it was the graphics card.  Edit:  Unless you were in Iray mode?  If so, disregard everything else in this post and indeed do start by testing your gfx card - or power supply.

    Normally I run a raft of other programs on my computers, so already have a feeling as to whether the machine is stable and its just the software.  Usually a full machine lock up that happens frequently is a hardware fault and it could be worth running some game benchmarking or stress testing software to try to recreate a crash to learn more.  I don't find memory testing sofware particularly thorough enough to find a 'once every month or two' type crash but are generally easy for people to use. 

    These people have written an article on PC stress testing.  The bit you would consider starting with is the "Prime95 With AVX & Blend" : "Using the more conservative Blend test results in less load on the cores and more load on the memory."

    https://www.tomshardware.com/uk/reviews/stress-test-cpu-pc-guide,5461-2.html

    If you feel its just Daz and not hardware, then I'd reinstall it first.

     

    Post edited by jmtbank on
  • mbug90mbug90 Posts: 51

    jmtbank said:

    mbug90 said:

    IT HAPPENED AGAIN!  I was posing a figure in DAZ Studio when my PC locked up and then BSOD'd!

     

     

    Well I guess it ain't a one off.  I never trust log files, but its flat out blaming the CPU.   As you were posing a character, I probably also wouldnt assume it was the graphics card.  Edit:  Unless you were in Iray mode?  If so, disregard everything else in this post and indeed do start by testing your gfx card - or power supply.

    Normally I run a raft of other programs on my computers, so already have a feeling as to whether the machine is stable and its just the software.  Usually a full machine lock up that happens frequently is a hardware fault and it could be worth running some game benchmarking or stress testing software to try to recreate a crash to learn more.  I don't find memory testing sofware particularly thorough enough to find a 'once every month or two' type crash but are generally easy for people to use. 

    These people have written an article on PC stress testing.  The bit you would consider starting with is the "Prime95 With AVX & Blend" : "Using the more conservative Blend test results in less load on the cores and more load on the memory."

    https://www.tomshardware.com/uk/reviews/stress-test-cpu-pc-guide,5461-2.html

    If you feel its just Daz and not hardware, then I'd reinstall it first.

     

    How long should I run the test for? 

  • jmtbankjmtbank Posts: 126

    The one they recommend sucks a lot of power, so I'm always lothe to let prime 95 and its like run and run.  You hear people on tech forums claim to do 24hrs.  I used to only run it for an hour or so.

    We go back to my original comment.  If you've only had 2 crashes in 4 months and it was hardware instability, you might never track it down if its such a rare occurance.

    I had a crypto mining cpu that only developed memory instability on the hottest days this summer.  I had assumed its underclock was fully stable up till that point.  

  • mbug90mbug90 Posts: 51
    edited November 2021

    jmtbank said:

    The one they recommend sucks a lot of power, so I'm always lothe to let prime 95 and its like run and run.  You hear people on tech forums claim to do 24hrs.  I used to only run it for an hour or so.

    We go back to my original comment.  If you've only had 2 crashes in 4 months and it was hardware instability, you might never track it down if its such a rare occurance.

    I had a crypto mining cpu that only developed memory instability on the hottest days this summer.  I had assumed its underclock was fully stable up till that point.  

    Okay, so it's been a little over an hour and a half that I've been running the blend test and the CPU is holding.

    Now what? 

    Post edited by mbug90 on
  • AgitatedRiotAgitatedRiot Posts: 1,105
    edited November 2021

    Ok, Try running Windows Memory Diagnostic just type it in your little search bar and run it. If it's your memory is bad you find out fast enough. It takes a while to run but let run. It will tell you while running you have errors. if it doesn't memory is good.

    Post edited by AgitatedRiot on
  • mbug90mbug90 Posts: 51

    AgitatedRiot said:

    Ok, Try running Windows Memory Diagnostic just type it in your little search bar and run it. If it's your memory is bad you find out fast enough. It takes a while to run but let run. It will tell you while running you have errors. if it doesn't memory is good.

    Windows Memory Diagnostic test came back clean 

  • mbug90mbug90 Posts: 51

    I also ran the Prime95 Blend Test for a little over 8 hours today with no problems.

  • PerttiAPerttiA Posts: 3,779
    edited November 2021

    This has been used to find problems when most of the stress tests have failed to find them https://www.ocbase.com/
     

    One thing to check is, how much RAM do you have and how big is your swap file. There is a pattern of users with 8GB RAM to run out of usable memory which has caused crashes.

    Post edited by PerttiA on
Sign In or Register to comment.