The completely gratuitous complaint thread

Comments

• LeatherGryphonLeatherGryphon Posts: 11,455
    edited February 2021

Fixmypcmike said:

Complaint:  Haven't found anyone else with this problem, so maybe someone here does.  I've been wearing glasses (and for a few years contacts) for nearsightedness since I was 2 years old and never had a problem.  When I hit my 50s, like many other people, I got some farsightedness, so I got bifocals, but the near vision part didn't work -- it's supposed to focus at a distance of around 18 inches, but I couldn't read clearly beyond 6 inches.  They cut the lenses again, but had the same problem.  so I just had them make the lenses for my nearsightedness and slide my glasses down my nose for closeup work.

Last fall, when I was due for new glasses, I had 3 pairs with the same nearsightedness prescription, as that hadn't changed for several years, so I decided to try just reading glasses.  These gave me a maximum of 10 or 11 inches, still too close to be usable.  The optometrist had me hold a card at a comfortable reading distance and adjusted the prescription for that.  They recut the lenses for the new prescription and it was almost exactly the same, too close to be of any use.

Has anyone else heard of this issue?