virtual penny 4 yor carrara thoughts ?

Comments

• DartanbeckDartanbeck Posts: 21,326
    edited January 2017

Wow, Vyusur, Very nice work!

Post edited by Dartanbeck on
    MistyMist said:

enlightened thinking, use particle emitter with a waterfall, to show cascading.    planes or metaballs?   hafta watch cripeman tutts again.

McGuyver showed us an example of metaball particle waterfalls, so I tried it and I love it! 

The smaller you make the metaballs in the emitter, the more you have to emit, which is harder on the system and longer to render, but looks more and more real.

I made mine with fairly large metaballs since I was just testing to see how it works, and I like fast and simple. I've never used metaballs particles before. I was amazed!!! It works really good!

I just (again, being fast and simple) used one of the water shaders from the browser. Looked great!

If the scene is simple, try using a spherical map in the Background channel. If not, at least try a bi gradient. If you want the background to be black, just add a color in the backdrop and make the color black! ;)  Works like a charm. Still get cool look on the shaders, and still have the stark black background! :)

Waterfall_Still_Cave.jpg
    1280 x 720 - 600K
    edited January 2017

Yeah... seeing the image again... they were Huge metaballs! So then I could run the simulation without running a whole lot of them - they just stick together and... well... they metaball! LOL

Post edited by Dartanbeck on

McGuyver's looked freaking REAL though. He had water flowing over a table and was using nice tiny metaballs, like we're supposed to when trying to make a shallow film of running water like that.

In mine, it looked amazingly better in an animation than in the above still. Especially when just messing around.

• MistaraMistara Posts: 38,675
    diomede said:

not sure about animating, but there is a freebie for liquids that might help, at least as a starting point